Valentine’s Day, not!

Posted: 04/02/2011 in Random
Tags: , , ,

Valentine’s Day is coming up. Normally I don’t give a shit about it, perhaps because it involves gifts, presents and some kind of communication. Anyway I decided to research it and see what it’s all about.

“Saint Valentine’s Day, commonly shortened to Valentine’s Day,[1][2][3] is an annual commemoration held on February 14 celebrating love and affection between intimate companions.[1][3] The day is named after one or more early Christian martyrs named Valentine and was established by Pope Gelasius I in 500 AD.  It is traditionally a day on which lovers express their love for each other by presenting flowers, offering confectionery, and sending greeting cards (known as “valentines“).

Modern Valentine’s Day symbols include the heart-shaped outline, doves, and the figure of the winged Cupid.

Cupid

 Ok, so who the hell is Cupid and what makes him the symbol for this day? Apparently he is the god of desire, affection and erotic love.Hhmm karma sutra style, nice!

What Cupid should look like

They say love is blind. Well, who the hell cares. This is a perfect excuse for those who have had crushes/ feelings for some one but didn’t have the balls to do anything about it.

I have 365 days to show my feelings for a loved one, so on this Valentine’s Day I’m gonna exercise my right to say,

“Baby, where’s my beer?”

Wink!

Comments
  1. onamatopoeia says:

    I’m’a get you sooooo many Valentine’s gifts, out of spite.

    And because I’m better than you.

    Wink!

  2. It seems so contrived that there is one day you are forced to show your affection for your significant other. It’s so cliche and rehearsed. Boo, I say.

    -Bianca & The Girls.

Leave a Reply

